Immunization Records Required for Enrollment
Nevada law requires that children be current on their immunizations before they are allowed to enter school. Parents should bring immunization records with them to school when they register their child.
A child will not be allowed to attend school until the documentation is provided. Exceptions are permitted based on religious belief or medical condition, which requires a letter from a health care provider.
5 DTaP/DPT (Minimum age: 6 weeks) if series was started before age 7
- 1st and 2nd dose & 2nd and 3rd dose must be separated by 4 weeks
- 4th dose must be separated from the 3rd dose by at least 4 months
- 5th dose must be separated from the 4th dose by at least 6 months and given on or after 4th birthday
- Final dose at least 6 months after the previous dose (on or after 4th birthday)
*Catch-up schedule – Students age 7 or older, who are not immunized with the childhood DTaP/DPT vaccine series, should receive Tdap vaccine as the initial dose in the catch-up series. If additional doses are needed, use Td vaccine.
- A total of 4 doses DTaP/DTP/Td/Tdap combination is needed if first doses given less than 12 months of age. Dose 3 and 4 must be 6 months apart. 4th dose does not need to be repeated if it was administered at least 4 months after the 3rd dose
- A total of 3 doses DTaP/DTP/Td/Tdap combination is needed if first dose given at 12 months and older. Dose 2 and 3 must be 6 months apart
2 Hepatitis A (Minimum age: 12 months)
- 2nd dose must be at least 6 months after the 1st dose.
3 Hepatitis B (Minimum age: birth)
- 1st and 2nd dose must be separated by 4 weeks
- 2nd and 3rd dose must be separated by at least 8 weeks
- 3rd dose at least 16 weeks after the 1st dose. (Minimum age for final- 3rd or 4th dose: 24 weeks)
2 MMR** (Minimum age: 12 months)
- 1st and 2nd dose must be separated by at least 4 weeks
- 2nd not required until on or after the 4th birthday
1 MCV4 or MenACWY (MENINGOCOCCAL) (Minimum age: 10 years)
- Required for 7th grade enrollment after June 30, 2017 (and all students new to District between 8th and 12th grade).
- Must receive at least 1 dose of MCV4 on or after age 10 years. (Does not apply to students enrolled before July 1, 2009)
4 Polio/IPV/OPV (Minimum age: 6 weeks)
- 1st and 2nd dose and 2nd and 3rd doses must be separated by 4 weeks
- Final dose at least 6 months after the previous dose and on or after 4th birthday
- 4th dose not needed if 3rd dose is at least 6 months from the previous dose and on or after 4th birthday
1 Tdap *(Minimum age: 11 years)
- Required for 7th grade enrollment and all students grade 8th - 12th
*See DTaP/DTP for catch up schedule.
2 Varicella/Chicken Pox** (Minimum age: 12 months) Required for students new to Nevada, or new to District after July 1, 2011
**Live vaccines (MMR and Varicella) must be separated by 28 days if not given on the same day.
More information is available by calling the Clark County Health District at 702-759-1000.
or go to:
Southern Nevada Health District Main Facility
330 S. Valley View Blvd.
Las Vegas, NV 89107